About Penn Stroke

retouched photo

The Division of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases at the University of Pennsylvania has a long and storied history.  Our accomplishments include:

  • One of the first designated stroke units in the United States
  • First JCAHO certified primary stroke center in Philadelphia
  • First JCAHO certified comprehensive stroke center in the Philadelphia region (2012)
  • National Institute of Health-funded Philadelphia Regional Stroke Trials Network Coordinating Center
  • National Institute of Health-funded Neurology Emergency Treatment Trial Network (NETT) Hub
  • Two faculty members have received the American Academy of Neurology Michael Pessin Stroke Leadership Award


Christina Blum, MD

Brett Cucchiara, MD

John Detre, MD

Chris Favilla, MD

Scott Kasner, MD, Director

Donna Kurowski George, MD

Steve Messe, MD

Michael Mullen, MD

Paul Novello, MD

Laura A Stein, MD

Qingyang (Kristy) Yuan, MD

Advanced Practice Providers:

Rebecca Blaguski, CRNP
Assistant Director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center

Rebecca Burdett, CRNP

Research Team:

Nichole Gallatti, M.S.Ed, CCRP
Stroke Clinical Trials Project Coordinator

Devin Keating, BS, BA
Stroke Clinical Trials Project Coordinator

MaryLiz DeSanto
Research Assistant

Sean A Spangler, MS
Clinical Research Coordinator

Stephanie Cummings, BS
Clinical Research Coordinator

Administrative Team:

Michele Sellers, MSN, RN
Administrator, Penn Neuro Rescue and Telestroke Program

Elizabeth Neuhaus-Booth, BSN, RN
Stroke Coordinator

Cathy Schmitt, BSN, RN
Stroke Clinical Performance Coordinator

Alycia Dickman,  BA
Administrative Coordinator, Penn Neuro Rescue and Telestroke Program


Click here for Public reporting of data